How Do I Change My Discoverable Name on My iPhone?

On iOS, the device name is also the Bluetooth name, which is confusing when multiple iPhones in the same range `have similar names. Change the device name to modify the Bluetooth name with these easy steps.

How Do I Change My Bluetooth Name for an Accessory on My iPhone?

Bluetooth accessories that an iPhone connects to have default device names. You can also give these devices custom names to make them distinct. For instance, changing the name of AirPods makes them easier to manage when you have several pairs lying around. Enable Bluetooth and connect to the accessory before following the steps below.

Why Change the Default Name?

Changing the default name of an iPhone makes it easier to identify for connecting to Bluetooth devices. The iPhone also allows you to give a unique name to a Bluetooth accessory to make it more recognizable among a sea of devices at home or work. A unique name also adds a touch of personalization to every Bluetooth accessory you own.